Carpetbaggers and Other Such Foolishness

The Other McCain takes high offense at “the arrogance of infernal Yankeedom” spewed by Michael Hirsch at Newsweek (h/t MVRWC). As usual those doing the spewing have never actually set foot in the South. Go home! But you knew that…

Anyone who has lived in both North and South can testify to the difference in manners. Southerners are, in general, more friendly and courteous. Visit any commercial establishment in the South — especially the small-town South — and you will be thoroughly sirred and ma’amed and thanked and pleased. While the small-town North lacks the pushy rudeness of Northern cities, even small-town Yankees are less outgoing, their courtesy more formal and less enthusiastic, than in the South.

Yet Hirsch calls the South “savage” and “unsophisticated” — quite true, if patriotism and courage are “savage,” and faith and honor are “unsophisticated.”

Such savages! We live in caves and eat raw meat cooked over fires. Ride our livestock to market and make our own spears. Does that mean I get to break out the Xena outfit? My husband would be happy with that. The most savageness anybody sees ’round these here parts is the fit I’m about to throw because Wee Highlander has deemed himself way too cool and above such mundane chores as cutting the grass. Cut the meadow, BEFORE it blooms, is my motto.

Now I don’t want to offend my dear pals in NY and NJ and other such parts that were considered sister states in the Original Thirteen, but this little weasel needs to be taken out behind the woodshed and given a thorough lesson in decorum with one of those Southern specialties – a privett switch. ‘Bout 18 inches long, ’bout a half inch thick. That oughta make an impression he won’t soon forget.

Which brings me to the next topic, one I’ve been loath to even bring up. This mess stirred up by Rev. “God D*$# America” Wright and Al “Kill the Cops” Sharpton. And where is Obama during all this? Hiding behind Michelle, because America is soooo mean? He “started the dialogue.” And has probably single-handedly set race relations in the US back 30 years. Now isn’t that something to be proud of? I thought he was on a mission to overcome racial tensions and heal our every wound. If he can’t control these two blowhard media whores – how do you think he’ll handle a pushy dictator or, heaven forbid, a nuclear crisis? Way to build the electorate’s confidence up there, Scooter.

UPDATE: Confederate Yankee hits the nail on the head.

A man of few accomplishments to support his rhetorical promises, no proven leadership skills, and a past, present, and future filled with radicals more interested in fighting America than fighting for it, Barack Obama is not a candidate America can trust.

UPDATE II: Over at GM’s Corner, Mr. Roper himself gives Rev. Wright the apology he so desperately demands from folks who mostly didn’t have anything to do with things that happened 200 years ago. But what’s a few centuries for a race-baitin’ politician wannabee?

Dear Reverend Wright,
I would like to take this time to offer to you, an esteemed preacher of the gospel my sincerest apology. I apologize for having been born white and for being related to other white folk. I apologize for my ancestors that owned slaves even if I don’t know of any. I apologize abjectly that African Blacks and African Muslims captured a number of other African Blacks and sold them into slavery. I apologize from the bottom of my heart that people that I didn’t know enslaved people that you didn’t know from a country that you have never lived in brought ancestors that you never met to a country that has given more people freedom to say the things that you like to say and give them the full backing of the constitution to say them. And I’m most sincerely sorry that you are such an idiot and such a bombastic stuffed shirt who has made so much money that you have chosen to live in the upper reaches of middleclassness.

Sincerely,
GM Roper

There you go.

2 Comments

  1. TexasFred said,

    April 29, 2008 at 1:25 pm

    Just so you know, I returned the favor and I have you linked on my American Conservatives blogroll… Thank you for the kind words, I DO appreciate it…

  2. February 2, 2011 at 7:32 pm

    [...] the Grey Lady and is now the paper’s Atlanta Bureau chief. Heh. Don’t get me started on carpbetbaggers and “the arrogance of infernal [...]


Leave a Reply

