No Power of Hell, No Scheme of Man, Can Ever Pluck Me from His Hand

After a few days of beautiful leaves and equally beautiful music, my heart is at ease. For the moment, at least. The old saying “Music soothes the savage beast” even applies to the torture a soul feels when faced with such uncertainty that nightmares crowd out any restful sleep. You wake exhausted, with the heavy feeling like you’ve battled demons all night long

Driving between concert venues, for every 20 McCain yard signs, we saw one Obama sign. Lots of houses flying Old Glory. Everyone I spoke with shared my concerns about the election, but they had all either already voted for McCain or planned to. Regardless, they continue to pray for the nation and it’s future.

Roger Kimbell at PJM feels that all is not lost.

What I find depressing about this–as, indeed, about the whole Obama juggernaut–is the extent to which it represents a return of bad ideas that have already been tried time and again, have failed and made people poorer and less stalwart, and yet seem poised to make a sorry comeback once again.

[...] Still, I do not despair.

In this last week, remember that desperation breeds strange behavior. Ignore the media – they are in the tank for The One. They believe that the American public is SO stupid that they can say whatever their handlers demand without redress. The polls, too. Their samples are skewed and questions are flawed. The pool of lemmings grows deep and wide. Listen to your favorite music, watch old movies. Crank up the Mozart, Vivaldi, Led Zepplin, Brad Paisley, bagpipes, whatever. Watch the classics. Remember how great it is to be an American.

Liberty can be a messy business. I don’t mind the mess and I certainly don’t want an Obama adminstration to clean it up for me.

As a sidebar, at this morning’s concert, I met Dr. Emir Caner, the new President of Truett-McConnell College in Cleveland, GA. I’ve written previously about his brother, Ergun. During his words to the group during lunch, he was comfortable and light on his feet, weaving his ideas for the college’s future in with jokes about his faculty that participated that morning. His vision reminds me of that line of “In Christ Alone,” the closing piece of the concert.

“No Power of Hell, No Scheme of Man, Can Ever Pluck Me from His Hand”

This election is in His hands. I have cast my vote and cast my fears of the future to the foot of the Cross.

2 Comments

  1. Salina said,

    October 30, 2008 at 11:18 am

    Wow, good article.

  2. Carol said,

    November 9, 2008 at 9:24 pm

    I have been looking for an answer and tonight while searching for the song that we sang today in church, I have found it.
    I thank you for writing God’s comforting words for all to see.
    Peace be with us all in knowing that He is always in control.


Leave a Reply

