Home Again, Home Again, Jiggety Jig

Well, I’m back from Nashville and other parts southern. Things I learned on my latest excellent adventure:

The drive up I-24, between Chattanooga and Nashville this time of year is downright stunning.

At the Gaylord Opryland Resort, one should avoid the room service menu at all costs. The food was so bad, I’m pretty sure if my little dog was along for the trip, he wouldn’t have eaten it either.

Again, in referring to the Gaylord Opryland Resort, I an convinced the place is run by Yankees. The evidence? A good glass of sweet tea was not to be had at any price.

Lunch, or any meal really, at Ellendale’s is worth the drive, even if from Atlanta. And yes, they had marvelous, glorious sweet tea, over which we gushed and guzzled and groveled for take-out cups.

At least while I was away, I managed to miss Atlanta’s PollenApocalypse. The count was high in Nashville on Tuesday as well, but I was indoors, trapped in boring presentations in freezing conference rooms all enveloped by No-Sweet-Tea-Land (see item above).

While still in fer parts north of here, I was contacted about winning first prize for a pair of knitted socks. For those who scoff at my new obsession – well, nannynannybooboo on you. This is what I won. The grand poo-bah of needle sets.

After Nashville, came Macon. While The Hubster was rehearsing for the trip of a lifetime, I visited the best yarn shop in middle Georgia, Creative Yarns. Extra plus – I got to ogle the needles that UPS will soon deposit at my door.

Friday and Saturday brought haircuts, groceries, dogs stuff, shopping and other such mundane things, signalling that life was returning to normal. Or at least as normal as it gets around these parts.

Leave a Reply

