Has it been A Year already?

One year ago today, the blog “Obi’s Sister” was created.

It was named in honor of my little brother, the great Obi-Wan Ben Kenobi: Master Jedi, Champion Blue Devils Snare Drummer, Bulldawg to the Bone, PGA Golfer, Footballer, Marathon Runner, Consumer of Mass Quantities of “Do-Do” balls, great brother, friend, husband and father. During many nights in his yard/ driveway/kitchen, the discussions we had brought me out of my middle-age induced fog to realization that we Americans needed to take back America.

As I said that first day,

9/11 was my wake-up call. It was almost like those time travel sequences you see in the movies – BAM – you’re there. Disoriented. Lost. Confused. But I was never afraid. Just really pissed off that the blissful daze of my middle years had been forcibly taken from me. Since then, I have watched with incredulous disbelief the way most of our elected officials behave, how other countries smile and shake our hands while they stab us in the back and how the media has gone from the less than trustworthy uncle to the downright lying scoundrel and/or pedophile you cross the street to avoid. Its time to speak out.

Things I’ve learned this past year:

• I’m not as technical as I thought I was.
• I really enjoy writing (as much as I DID NOT enjoy it during my school years).
• The research capabilities of the Internet are boundless. Think of all the time you’d have to spend in the library, surrounded by books, rooting out all this stuff.
• I miss the library.
• For the most part, the state of our public press is appalling.
• For the most part, the state or our education systems, including colleges, is appalling.
• For the most part, the manner in which our elected officials comport themselves is appalling.
• There are many, many people just like me, ordinary people, with kids and mortgages and jobs and aging parents, that are as equally aghast as I at what our country and our world has become.
• If you say it, people will listen.
• You can make great friends without meeting them face to face. Folks who send you funny emails. Good Samaritans. People with great insight. And there are those who will drop and pray for you and yours, simply because you ask.

Hang on, this next year should be a wild ride!

10 Comments

  1. Shamalama said,

    March 14, 2007 at 8:10 am

    HAPPY ANNIVERSARY to you. I hope you have many more.

  2. Fausta said,

    March 14, 2007 at 10:29 am

    Happy blogibirthday to you!

  3. Robbie said,

    March 14, 2007 at 3:54 pm

    They say the first year is the toughest.

    They lied. They keep getting harder, and harder, and harder. But better, too.

  4. SC&A said,

    March 14, 2007 at 4:34 pm

    OK, now that you’ve warmed up, keep hitten’ em outta the park.

  5. March 14, 2010 at 7:42 am

    […] posts: 2009 – Three Years – Already? 2008 – Pi Day, v.2.0 2007 – Has it been A Year already? and On Pi Day and Clinton Lie Detectors 2006 – Cartoon Home Cookin’, Mama King and […]

  6. November 10, 2010 at 7:15 am

    […] my blog’s first anniversary post was a dedication of sorts to the “Obi” behind Obi’s Sister. It was named in honor […]

  7. March 14, 2011 at 7:32 am

    […] started as a rant about bad manners led to politics, of course. Duh. A year went by, and the blog got its sea-legs.. After two years, there were more readers, more commenters and I was venturing out to meet face to […]

  8. March 14, 2012 at 3:17 pm

    […] to my general sense of blogmentia. If you’re a newbie, check them out here – The First, Year One, Two, Three, Four, and […]

  9. March 14, 2013 at 8:21 am

    […] the one post that started it all, plus all six of the previous anniversary posts – The First, Year One, Two, Three, Four, Five, and […]

  10. March 14, 2014 at 2:00 pm

    […] one post that started it all, plus all seven of the previous anniversary posts – The First, Year One, Two, Three, Four, Five, Six, and […]


Leave a Reply

