Palette Cleanser

Vince Dooley, Saint

Who doesn’t need a palette cleanser now and again, especially in these days of unsavory politics?

Those who bleed Red & Black, or those who bleed Orange & Blue and you know who you are, will appreciate the dreadful future awaiting the NCAA if they pick this man as their president (BigDawg h/t Paul Westerdawg). I’ll wait while you READ the whole thing.

While you’re at it, read the lively comments on “regime change in Athens” over at Get The Picture. It’s ok, I’ll wait.

I won’t comment on how long you were gone, or where else you dallied on your way back.

What, you say, why shouldn’t the one and same NCAA that micro-manages every breath every sports program at every DI, DI-A, DII, DIII school takes, that regulates the number of times a recruiter can text a recruitee in a 48 hour period, or dictates that a true Southern hostess can’t even offer a coach a glass of sweet tea as he sits on your coach talking to your boy about his future at XYZ U, aspire to the same levels of Ham-Fisted Imperialism as the federal government? It seems to be working for them (ahem, check back with me in November).

Sometimes the stupidity of people just stupefies me.

2 Comments

  1. November 3, 2010 at 2:48 pm

    […] As an aside, sometimes I just crack myself up. While digging for nuggets of wisdom in the praxeum’s cavernous archives (the reason why, well, you’ll just have to wait to find out!), I came across this zinger: Sometimes the stupidity of people just stupefies me. […]

  2. March 14, 2011 at 7:32 am

    […] (remember, Rule 4) and parsecs of snarkage. Just a few days after that celebration, I coined my favorite phrase of 2011, “Sometimes the stupidity of people just stupefies me.” During this past year, along […]


Leave a Reply

