That Debate Thang

Last night’s debate was certainly more entertaining than all the previous ones. Plus, Stacy and Crew are having way too much fun.

While there are lots of armchair pundits weighing on what who said when and how and why it matters, Sunshine State Sarah has the most entertaining round-up, complete with visual aids. (h/t Da Tech Guy)

What did I think? In a nutshell, Perry did better (still not thrilled), Herman survived the second pile-on, Santorum and Bachmann need to just go home. Newt continues to prove he is the smartest guy in the room, electable or not. I’m curious if his polling numbers will go up. I especially liked his answer to the Latino gentleman’s question and about whether a candidate’s faith should factor into a voter’s choice.

COOPER: Speaker Gingrich, you agree with that? [Cooper had asked Santorum, “Should voters pay attention to a candidate’s religion?”]

GINGRICH: Well, I think if the question is, does faith matter? Absolutely. How can you have a country which is founded on truths which begins we are endowed by our creator with certain inalienable rights? How can you have the Northwest Ordinance of 1787 which says religion, morality and knowledge being important, education matters. That’s the order: religion, morality and knowledge.

Now, I happen to think that none of us should rush in judgment of others in the way in which they approach God. And I think that all of us up here I believe would agree. (APPLAUSE)

But I think all of us would also agree that there’s a very central part of your faith in how you approach public life. And I, frankly, would be really worried if somebody assured me that nothing in their faith would affect their judgments, because then I’d wonder, where’s your judgment — how can you have judgment if you have no faith? And how can I trust you with power if you don’t pray?

(APPLAUSE)

Who you pray to, how you pray, how you come close to God is between you and God. But the notion that you’re endowed by your creator sets a certain boundary on what we mean by America.

Yes, I know I dismissed Newt early on, but this is just so much fun to watch. He has nothing to lose so he is able to keep his cool and score some points with his well-thought out answers.

Oh, I forgot to mention Romney. I think he’s going for that Don Draper mussed look…

3 Comments

  1. October 19, 2011 at 5:54 pm

    Rick Santorum was my first choice for the longest time because of his willingness to speak out against the sharia and jihad and his vast knowledge of foreign issues, but the last week and a half or so, I am seeing what others had seen and didn’t like. His attacks against Herman Cain, really turned me off, they make him look almost as mean and petty as Obama. It is in his press releases that arrive in my email too, I don’t like it. Newt has grown on me, I like him a lot now, but I am perfectly happy to board the Cain Train because I think he can beat the snot out of Obama and his positive attitude will go a long way to help get this country out of the dark sad place we are in now.

  2. Obi's Sister said,

    October 19, 2011 at 9:18 pm

    +10 😀

  3. John Hinds said,

    October 22, 2011 at 4:37 pm

    Good post. I’d never have seen this otherwise. I’ve liked Newt from the beginning in spite of his failings. I don’t like Cain’s 999 schtick. My sales tax is too high already and would go to 17% if he has his way. In Texas we don’t pay sales tax on food, meds, services. I want to keep it that way. But it would be somehow gratifying to follow Obie with a real black man of the opposite party. All I require is that Romney be sent packing once and for all.


Leave a Reply

