The Christmas Memories, Part 12

This year I’ve been a little stumped as to what to include for a Christmas memory. There are still so many; how do I choose?

Then my little niece, The Divine Miss S, shared one about her recently deceased grandfather that I knew needing telling. You see, this is the second Christmas since her grandfather went to be with God. Last year, his loss was too new, too hard. This year, she was ready to tell her story. Her grandfather, my brother’s father-in-law, was the epitome of the cultured southern gentlemen. He was extremely well read, and full of funny stories, with a soft spot the size of Virginia for his grand children.

Ever the teacher and like most seniors, he had a special way with the little ones.

There has always been a tradition between my grandpa and me. Every time he would come up for a Christmas visit we would always count the lights on the back porch. When we would count the colors there was always a different number of each. I would count the colors and Grandpa would write them down. It was a very special moment for me because I got to spend time with my grandpa. When it was getting close to Christmas it would be something to look forward to every year. It was very special for me to spend time with him because I loved him so much and he was a great person to do that with.

So the next time you see colored lights on a house, think of the special times shared with little ones. They are so fleeting and precious. And remember Marvin, who counts all the lights up in Heaven now.

For other Christmas Memories posts, see 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 5.1, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 and 11. Some are sad, some are funny, but they are all very special to me.

Leave a Reply

