Winter is coming won’t go away

Alas and alack, the gastric unhappiness that began last month (March actually) continues to slow me down. Add to that the fact that this May has started out as the coldest since my childhood, and it’s been raining for four days – you’ve got my mood.

It’s just the weather folks. Some years are colder than others. Some years are hotter than others. Some wetter. Some dryer. It’s just weather. However, for my personal amusement (I really need something to cheer me up) I’ll link to this old 1975 article from Newsweek archived by Sweetness & Light that predicted an impending Little Ice Age. The horror! We’re doomed! We’ll starve! We’ll freeze! Watch the liberal Gorite’s little heads explode!

Another factor, though not one that drags me down, is that I’ve been playing the part of Florence NightingMom. Friday NotSoWeeHighlander had his wisdom teeth removed. I wasn’t worried about the surgery, he’s a tough kid. And so far, so good. Very little swelling. Moderate, but manageable pain levels. Milk shakes and soups. Maybe I can get a grilled cheese down him later today. Since he’s recuperating, I have to stay close. We’ve been watching the first season of Game of Thrones.

Even though it seems our winter won’t go away, I’m very thankful our winter doesn’t last ten years.

Leave a Reply

