Is This Still a Thing? After Nine Years, You Betcha

Pi-Day

It has been a long year. And I admit my guilt of long-term absence from the interwebz, citing my own time-constraints as an alibi. But yes, this blog is still a thing.

Caring for my mom has become a part-time job. I don’t mind it so much, after all it is a season of life we all must pass through. I’m thankful for every day that she still knows who I am and we’ve not had to retrieve her from some highway rest stop due to some unintended walk-about. But I know those days are coming and we’re fighting them off like the vandal horde they are.

It does take time from other things. Like the little blog here. But enough about me and my new normal, at least for this week.

Nine years is longer than two of my career stops. Most cars/marriages/fruit cakes don’t last that long. Many other blogs (and friends) have fallen away. They are missed. Some more than others.

If you’re new to this dark little asteroid, you can check out the one post that started it all, plus all eight of the previous anniversary posts – The First, Year One, Two, Three, Four, Five, Six, Seven and Eight.

Many, many friends have been made along the way. Many prayers said. So much support offered. Special thanks go out to Fausta for her continued friendship, and as always to The Anchoress, Elizabeth Scalia, my blog-mother. It’s all her fault. She continues to amaze and inspire me.

Let the wild rumpus start!

3 Comments

  1. August 17, 2015 at 11:03 pm

    I’ve gone through the same things. Unavoidable absences, and a mother I was so grateful for. Lost her in June 2015, but enjoyed her every minute right up to the end. She was 93. God bless you and yours.

  2. Obi's Sister said,

    September 10, 2015 at 7:30 pm

    Thanks Maggie. This is the hardest thing I’ve ever done.

  3. March 14, 2016 at 3:16 am

    […] If you’re new to this dark little asteroid, you can check out the one post that started it all, plus all nine of the previous anniversary posts – The First, Year One, Two, Three, Four, Five, Six, Seven, Eight, and Nine. […]


Leave a Reply

