The Leader of the Band

Dan Fogelberg has died of prostate cancer.

His music haunted my youth, my dating years, and can still conjure up feelings long forgotten.

Just for a moment I was back at school
And felt that old familiar pain
And as I turned to make my way back home
The snow turned into rain –(Same Old Lang Syne)

The last time we saw him live was at Chastain Park in 1987. I was exceeding pregnant with baby #1. We had bought a table with a bunch of friends (for those that don’t live in Atlanta, a Chastain Park concert is an Event – gourmet picnics with candlelabras, etc.) Our contribution to the spread was a gorgeous seven layer mexican dip made in a spring-form pan, complete with sliced avocados in a sunburst pattern on the top. When we unmolded it, you could see the colorful layers. I remember waddling down the long stair-aisle and grown men running to relieve me of practically everything I carried. I remember getting in line for the ladies room and everyone letting me move in line. While everyone treated me like the Queen of Eqypt, I felt more like the Nile Barge, lumbering down the river.

Right at the end of the first set, a huge thunderstorm blew up. We huddled under the umbrellas. My beautiful dip melted into something that resembled bad modern art. But Fogelberg didn’t let that stop him – he played right on. We danced. We sang. We cried. The baby in my belly danced and danced and danced. Now that baby is a musician herself. I wonder if that night had anything to do with it….

I thank you for the music
And your stories of the road
I thank you for the freedom
When it came my time to go
I thank you for the kindness
And the times when you got tough
And, papa, I dont think I
Said I love you near enough

The leader of the band is tired
And his eyes are growing old
But his blood runs through
My instrument
And his song is in my soul
My life has been a poor attempt
To imitate the man
Im just a living legacy
To the leader of the band
I am the living legacy
To the leader of the band. –(The Leader of the Band)

Another golden voice added to the choir of angels….

More: DF homepage

Dan left us this morning at 6:00am . He fought a brave battle with cancer and died peacefully at home in Maine with his wife Jean at his side. His strength, dignity, and grace in the face of the daunting challenges of this disease were an inspiration to all who knew him.

Others remembering:
Michelle
Captain’s Quarters