The Obligatory #CPAC11 Purse Dump

Well, I’m back and feebly attempting a recovery.

Equipment wise, I was bit challenged this trip. Finally admitting this year that I may NOT be Superwoman and perhaps may have a few minor physical limitations, I opted for the iPod over the laptop (therefore avoiding the sore shoulder for weeks afterward). Combine that with the dodgy WiFi in the Blogger’s Lounge and you get an idea of my daily frustration. Only managed one actual post from the conference, but boy, was my purse packed with cards and notes, toys and trinkets. Not having to keep an eye on the equipment freed me up to walk around more (ouch, my feet!) and attend more sessions outside the big hall.

I made many new friends and enjoyed reconnecting with old ones. It’s a wonderful thing to put a face with a name. Please note the Blogroll has expanded (those listed with a * are bloggers I’ve personally met).

I was sitting right beside Ed Morrissey when he interviewed Rep. Steve King of Iowa.

Herman Cain wowed the house – “Stupid people are ruining America.”

Jason Pye interviewed Herman in the BL.

Blogger Andrew Ian Dodge announced his candidacy for Senator of Maine, the seat currently occupied by RINO Olympia Snowe. Andrew would make a great Senator and I can’t wait for him to meet Al Franken in the parking lot after session.

The American Conservative Union has new President and Moe Lane got a few minutes of his time. Hopefully, change is in the air.

It was great to put these faces with their blogs – Bruce McQuain of Questions and Observations, Doug Ross @ Journal and Bruce at Gay Patriot.

The “Awakening of the Conservative Woman” panel put on by the Clare Booth Luce Policy Institute was nothing short of outstanding. All the nasties that called Cleta Mitchell names should be sent to Never Expiring Detention. She was delightful, along with the other panelists. It is so refreshing to see women of such varying ages and backgrounds agree that the foundation of this country is the family.

And of course, Stacy McCain was the Cruise Director. His multiple posts each day of the conference (sample: Day 1, Day 2, Day 3, a wrap-up of sorts – there’s lots more) show not only how much ground he covered, but his incredible bandwidth when it comes to copious amounts of schmoozing.

One of the highlights of the conference was that this actually happened. No Badge, No Entry, I-Don’t-Care-Who-You-Are. Pure awesome.

People who know me, know I’m pretty camera shy. But I wasn’t shy when this guy stopped by.

That’s just the tip of the iceberg. I’m going back to bed now.

UPDATE: Linked by Stacy, who has even more pictures, including Bogie. Sigh…

4 Comments

  1. Phineas Fahrquar said,

    February 14, 2011 at 8:25 pm

    the real “The Donald!”

    Like

  2. February 14, 2011 at 11:00 pm

    “Cruise director”? I’d rather you thought of me as Rick Blaine in Casablanca: “We’ll always have CPAC.”

    Like

  3. February 15, 2011 at 2:00 am

    […] Koestler‘We’ll Always Have CPAC’Posted on | February 15, 2011 | View CommentsGinny at Obi’s Sister paid tribute to my schmoozing abilities by dubbing me the “cruise director” of CPAC, but I had just been watching Casablanca […]

    Like

  4. Obi's Sister said,

    February 15, 2011 at 7:53 am

    I meant it in the nicest of ways!

    Like


Leave a comment