Vultures and Thieves at your back

I’ve followed politics off and on over the years. Mostly, I’ve ignored the hi-jinks and baloney as just that – insignificant bluster from insignificant toads. Politicians in general were possessed of tight suits and bad manners, loud and smarmy, sometimes with dirty laundry. Most travelled in packs with a posse of hanger-ons – bottom feeders on expense accounts.

Like Dorothy Gale, any adventure past my own back yard had lost it’s appeal. I had kids to raise and bills to pay, a husband, a house, a job, aging parents; “the leaks in the roof; the soup in the pot.” I was/am busy and I was/am tired.

It’s not that the world changed; it’s more like my perception of it did. Problems that had festered for many years in faraway lands suddenly sparked an urgency to learn more. To learn how it effected my life and the future of my kids. And what little ol’ me could do about it.

I’m a little over half way through Randall Price’s “Unholy Way: America, Israel & Radical Islam.” It’s very well researched – 16 pages of 4 point type footnotes! While it was written in 2001, many of the situations the author highlights have come to pass.

When I read Chapter 10, I was astounded. I put the book down for a couple of days, prayed alot, picked it up, and it was still there in black and white. More about that in a later post.

Many people have been blogging on the subject of Islamic terrorism for quite a while now and I read as many as I can… JihadWatch, (delinked) LGF, Religion of Peace, Michelle Malkin, All Things Beautiful, The Anchoress, Gates of Vienna and many, many more. They see through the deceit of the media, the lies of the mullahs and the absurdity of Twelveth Imam visions. They are the experts; I am the beginner. And I’m grateful for what they do.

The more I learn, the madder I get. I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again; the world seems to have slipped back into a late 1930’s state of mind. Listen to the platitudes – “Can’t we all get along?” “He’s not a terrorist; he’s just a troubled young man.” Yadda Yadda Yadda. But there is a real and insipid evil, far beyond that Balrog in your closet, waiting to destroy us. WANTING to destroy us. Just like before.

The blogs have practically shouted it, but the world as a whole is so plugged into their ME ME ME, they don’t hear it. But the last few days, there seems to have been a subtle shift. There is more interest in what these eerie parallels hold for the future. News outlets are reporting (albeit quietly) that things may not be as they appear ((delinked) photoshoppers caught red-handed). People are asking questions about Islam, journalistic integrity, history, culture, religion. Finally, W said it in a short speech on August 10th praising Britian’s effort on thwarting the airborne terror attack:

The recent arrests that our fellow citizens are now learning about are a stark reminder that this nation is at war with Islamic fascists who will use any means to destroy those of us who love freedom, to hurt our nation.

If you have any doubts about the connection between Islam and Nazism, check out this post at Gates of Vienna.

A favorite canard from Muslims (and the Left) is that “the Jews are just like the Nazis”. But the story of the Mufti is a sobering reminder — as if we needed one — that such assertions are what psychologists refer to as “projection”.

Indeed.